User account

Sandro Zanetti: Auratic Theory: Walter Benjamin
Auratic Theory: Walter Benjamin
(p. 69 – 86)

Sandro Zanetti

Auratic Theory: Walter Benjamin

PDF, 18 pages

  • art theory
  • aesthetics
  • art
  • Theodor W. Adorno

My language

Selected content
English, French

Sandro Zanetti

Sandro Zanetti

is a professor for General and Comparative Literature at the University of Zurich. He studied German, History and Philosophy in Basel, Freiburg im Breisgau and Tübingen (1993-1999). After research and teaching in Frankfurt am Main, Basel, Berlin and Hildesheim, Zanetti has been the program director and head of the division for General and Comparative Literature (AVL) at the University of Zurich since 2011, first as an assistant professor (2011-2015), since 2015 as an associate professor. Since its inception in 2014, he is member of the executive committee of the Zentrum Künste und Kulturtheorie (ZKK) (Centre for the Arts and Cultural Theory), UZH. His current research interests include: artistic production processes and poetics of (im)probability.

Other texts by Sandro Zanetti for DIAPHANES
Dieter Mersch (ed.), Sylvia Sasse (ed.), ...: Aesthetic Theory

There is no theory that is not aesthetic in a certain way. Adorno, too, did not understand his aesthetic theory simply as a theory of the aesthetic, but was aware of the aesthetic implications of theory. At the same time we have to do with aesthetic objects and events in which an aesthetic theory is inherent, which show themselves as art. So from both sides—theory and aesthetics—a link can be made to the etymological meaning of θεωρία (theōria), which understands the theoretical as a seeing or perspective. The book examines this link and simultaneity, focusing equally on the aesthetic implications of theory and the theoretical implications of aesthetic events.

Contributors: Frauke Berndt, Elisabeth Bronfen, Sandra Frimmel, Julia Gelshorn & Tristan Weddigen, Fabienne Liptay, Dieter Mersch, Klaus Müller-Wille, ­Barbara Naumann, Boris Previšić, Dorota Sajewska, ­Sylvia Sasse, Rahel Villinger, Benno Wirz, Sandro Zanetti.